Retired Chief Richard Hamric, New Albany Fire Department

Longtime firefighter and retired Chief Richard Hamric passed away on Thursday, September 24, 2015. Chief Hamric, who's father was the first paid firefighter in New Albany, followed in his father's footsteps and eventually took over the helm before his retirement in 2008. Hamric was a longtime member of the MS Fire Fighter's Association prior to his retirement.

Visitation - Friday, September 25, 5 - 7 at Glenfield Baptist Church on West Bankhead
Funeral - Saturday, September 26, 11 at Glenfield Baptist Church

Tanner Lafayette, Calhoun City Fire Department

Tanner Easley Lafayette, 21, of Calhoun City died on Monday, August 31, 2015 at Grenada Lake Medical Center in Grenada.  He was born December 10, 1993 in Grenada, MS. He was the son of Randy Lafayette and Leigh Ann Easley Rimmer. He was a criminal justice student at Ole Miss, a member of Trinity Baptist Church, and a member of Calhoun City Fire Department.

Visitation will be Tuesday, September 1, 2015 from 5:00 pm until 8:00 pm at Pryor Funeral Home in Calhoun City. Funeral Service will be Wednesday, September 2, 2015 at 2:00 pm at Pryor Funeral Home Chapel in Calhoun City with Bro. Chad O'Brian and Bro. Jimmy Vance officiating. Burial will be in Pinecrest Memorial Gardens in Calhoun City, MS.  Pryor Funeral Home is in charge of arrangements.

Retired Chief Bob Farris, Reservoir Fire Department

It is with deep regret we announce the passing of Retired Reservoir Fire
Chief Bob Farris. Chief Farris served the Reservoir FD for more than
20 years and retired in 1996. Visitation
is Sunday May 17, 2015 430-530 with a memorial service to follow at
530. This will all take place in the Reservoir Community Center at 2230
Spillway Rd
Brandon, MS 39047.

LODD - Captain Dwight Greer, Philadelphia Fire Department

It is with great sadness that I inform you of the LODD of  Captain Dwight Greer
of Philadelphia Fire.  He was on duty at the station performing PT.


Sunday, May 10 from 3 – 6pm at Beck Funeral Home in Philadelphia


Monday, May 11 at 11:00 AM at the Neshoba County Coliseum

LODD - John L. Shoup, Ashland Volunteer Fire Department

working at the scene of a structure fire on March 7, 2015, Firefighter
Shoup complained to other firefighters that he wasn’t feeling well and
departed for home. Several hours after returning home, Shoup was taken
by his wife to the hospital where he was treated for a heart attack and
his condition stabilized. Subsequently, Firefighter Shoup was
transferred to a hospital in Jackson, Mississippi, where he succumbed to
his injury on March 15, 2015.

Wednesday, March 18, 5 - 9, Pine Grove Baptist Church

Thursday, March 19, 11, Pine Grove Baptist Church

Ashland Cemetary

Scott Pettigrew, Lawrence County

The Mississippi Fire Fighter's Association extends our condolences to the
family of Engineer/ Firefighter Scott Pettigrew, Lawrence County FD108.
FF Pettigrew passed away this afternoon due to complications associated
with cancer after a courageous and hard fought two year battle that has
inspired many across our county. FF Pettigrew had over 15 years in the
Lawrence County Fire Service (with both the Monticello and Topeka
VFDs), accumulating over 500 hours of training, including NFPA
1001-Based, NFPA 1002, and Hazardous Materials Technician
certifications, which is among the most hours and one of the most
prolific training records ever for a volunteer firefighter in Lawrence
county. His experience and knowledge will be greatly missed but, more
so, we will all miss his friendship and sense of humor. God Speed LCFD
Arrangements for
Engineer/Firefighter Scott Pettigrew are as follows:
Visitation--Thursday, February 12, 2015 from 5:00-9:00pm and Friday,
February 13, 2015 12-2pm. Funeral Service: Friday, February 13, 2015
at 2pm--visitations and funeral at Monticello Baptist Church with burial
at Bethshan Cemetery just outside town.

Fallen Firefighters 2014

  • Assistant Chief Ricky Smith, Puckett Volunteer Fire Department
  • Chief Johnny Littlefield, West Point Fire Department
  • Chief Charlie Harris, Myrtle Fire Department (ret.)
  • Robert (Bobby) Hilbun, Florence Volunteer Fire Department
  • Henry Wise, Greene County Fire Coordinator (ret.)
  • Assistant Chief Robert Bowen, Southeast Chickasaw Volunteer Fire Department
  • Chief Leon Burton, ACI Fire Department
  • Chief Earnest McCarty, Polkville Fire Department
  • Dwight Reid Hilton, Amite County

Fallen Firefighters 2013

  • Deputy Chief Robert Hall, Vicksburg Fire Department (ret.)
  • Glaston Temple, Bay Springs Volunteer Fire Department
  • Chief Allen Stokes, Nanah Waiya Volunteer Fire Department (ret.)
  • Phillip Lee, Leland Volunteer Fire Department
  • Leonard Dwayne Harris, Pearl Fire Department
  • Mickey Yates, Greenfield Volunteer Fire Department
  • Allan Wayne Tanksley, Hickory Volunteer Fire Department
  • Ronald V. "Ron" "Choctaw" Johnson, Laurel Fire Department (ret.)

Fallen Firefighters 2012

Chief Nolan Pittman, Centreville Volunteer Fire Department

Fallen Firefightesr 2011

  • Chance Alford, Thorn Volunteer Fire Department
  • Joshua Wilkes, Unity Volunteer Fire Department
  • Larry Gressett Sr., Toomsuba Fire and Rescue
  • Thurman J. Tucker, Greenwood Fire Department (ret.)
  • H.C. Dunnam, Meridian Fire Department (ret.)
  • Jacob Carter, Becker-Athens Volunteer Fire Department
  • Ochel Davidson, Brandon Fire Department
  • Johnny Anderson, Petal Fire Department
  • Charles Foster, Barton Volunteer Fire Department
  • Mike Porch, Leesburg Volunteer Fire Department
  • Tom Wagner, Carriere Volunteer Fire Department
  • Chief Sonny Moor, Natchez Fire Department (ret.)
  • Chief Sam Fletcher, Ellisville Fire Department (ret.)
  • Chief Pat Williams, Ocean Springs Fire Department (ret.)
  • Benjamin Isreal Brown, New Albany Fire Department
  • Chief Tommy Autry, Wyatte Fire Department
  • Danny L. Tillman, Monterey Fire Department
  • Chief Frank Morgan, Grenada Fire Department
  • Chief Dennis Charles Westbrook, Diamondhead Fire Department (ret.)